Thursday, September 6, 2007

Removing a share after deleting the directory

If you have created a share and then deleted the share without first deleting the directory you leave an 'orphaned' share that will log an error in the System Event logs (Event ID 2511) when the system boots.
 
To remove this 'orphaned' share simply go to the command line and type :
 
net share <SHARE_NAME> /delete
 
and the share name will removed from the list of shares the server creates on startup.